Prometheus (2012) movie review

In 2012, we had a few good BIG summer movies to be excited about….The Amazing Spider-Man reboot, The Dark Knight Rises, Prometheus, and Avengers. The aspect of a “prequel” or “spin off” to the Aliens franchise got people real stoked. So with Alien Covenant coming out this weekend I figure why not take the time to take a look at one of the most polarizing movies out there….So let’s get to it.

The GOOD 

mod_idcard.jpg

These three plus Idris Elba were FAN. TASTIC.

  • The CAST 
    • While the acting varies from person to person, the cast is phenomenal. We have Noomi Rapace as Dr. Shaw, Michael Fassbender as David 8 the android, Charlize Theron as Meredith Vickers, Idris Elba as Janek the captain of Prometheus, among many others. Those names that I listed they brought the A-game, the rest of the crew deliver ok performances; props go to Fassbender and Rapace in particular they were fantastic.
  • The STORY 
    • The story is incredibly….fascinating. It’s set at a nice pace that doesn’t QUITE drag, and it’s just an interesting premise-a group of human beings go out to a planet where they believe our ancestors came from and….Big no no. It’s a good show of “should we find out the reason for our existence”? Is there a God that created us or were we just a bluff that simply HAPPENED? Should we ever look for those answers and would we like the answers we found? It gives off a lot of questions…and not in that bad pseudo-science kind of way by way of like a Roland Emmerich movie. It actually does make you think about humanity and our place in the universe. I have to give the movie props for having an incredibly intriguing story.
  • The ACTING 
    • I was really debating on putting this in the “Good” or “meh” category, but I’m going to put it in the good because of two people-Fassbender and Noomi. The rest of the crew do a good enough job, but I would be remiss if I did not mention how powerful those two were together. The guy who played Dr. Holloway he was good, and Charlize Theron was good as well, because it’s Charlize Theron sometimes I don’t think she knows she’s being filmed and she’s just this naturally calm cool collected human being all the time-makes for a good villain role. Or commander.
  • The AESTHETICS 
    • The movie looks FANTASTIC. From wide sweeping shots (aka The Lord of the Rings shot), to really nice camera angles, the movie just looks fantastic the world they’re on feels really eerie, you get a constant sense of “danger danger” throughout the film. The Engineers looked….eh. Interesting I guess-they look human enough to be our ancestor/creator yet alien enough to be a separate species. Wish they had more screen time.

The MEH 

  • The EXECUTION OF STORY 
    • The story is innately fascinating to me. However, the way they execute it could’ve been better. When they get to the planet where our creators are or were, and the bad things start happening you can’t help but think “wait I’ve seen this before”. It’s the sense of familiarity that comes from the previous Aliens movies-so any disappointment with this movie, stems from tropes started by Alien, & Aliens-ie going into space, man vs alien, alien killing things, trying to set up good tension through this movie you’re like “I feel like I’ve been here before what’s new?”.
  • The MINOR CHARACTERS 
    • Other than Idris Elba, Charlize Theron, Michael Fassbender and Noomi Rapace, the rest of the crew….you give no shits if they live or die. In fact there’s at one point these two dudes who LEAVE. THE GROUP to head back to the ship Prometheus they come across these little worm like things called hammerpedes…And it’s hissing at them. And they want to poke it and touch it and get near it. I’m sure dear reader you can guess what happens to them. Little things like that really bug me-when a person in a film WITH A PHD does dumb things it just takes me out of the movie.
will-deacon-from-prometheus-be-alien-covenant-55

This isn’t the first Xenomorph…So there that is. You can see why so many were wondering if this was a prequel or not back when this thing first came out.

  • The ENDING 
    • The ending doesn’t bug me too much-of course there has to be a sole survivor in a space horror movie cause why not. However the actual final shot…It sets up for a sequel and I can quite plainly write/say that I understand why people were quite pissed at this ending-it tries to be all “see look Xenomorph Alien prequel” but…when it’s the last shot….for me I can’t help but think if it was shoehorned into the film to make it an Alien prequel for absolute sure.

The CONCLUSION 

If there’s something inherently BAD in a movie, I’ll put that in a review, but there’s nothing really BAD in this movie-the only bad/sad thing about it is that it has the weight of the Alien franchise on it’s back, so people expected it to be as “grand” as the first two. When it wasn’t what people expected to be, it split audiences up on what people thought of it-if you like it, people hated you for it. If you didn’t like it, people hated you for it. For me, I’m one of the “in the middle” people-it’s not good, not bad, just really average-and perhaps that’s what’s disappointing about this movie. It’s…just another scifi movie. You can see the potential for greatness in this movie, but it gets lost in the tonal problems of the film-I went back and forth from liking it to hating it, I was confused as to what rating to give it. The story was real fascinating, I always wonder about aliens being out there so I really gravitated toward the story, but when you have a crew of expendables that you know are going to die, and do stupid things, and a really kind of meh ending, with tropes and plot points you’ve seen before thanks to Alien/s you have to see this movie for what it is-a space scifi horror movie. Fassbender was incredible, Noomi was great, Idris was great, the story was great, the movie LOOKED fantastic, but the aftertaste it leaves you with it’s just….confusing.

But for me, I’m going to give Prometheus a 3/5-it’s just another scifi horror for me but I had a good time watching it. Take that as you will. I feel like this review was all over the place.

3_Star_Rating_System.png

What is your favorite Ridley Scott movie let me know down below!

About Mary

I'm a college graduate with a degree in film. I review movies, tv shows, and cartoons....And I write about anything that interests me at the time.

Posted on May 17, 2017, in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

